My log of ninja awesomeness!

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Coges, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Coges

Coges Valued Member

Ok so I’m not a ninja and not really awesome, yet.

I’ve been meaning to start a log for a while and figured a change of program is probably the perfect time to do so. I have been doing stronglifts 5x5 for the last 3 months or so. It was ok to begin with but became quite boring after a while. As much as I love squatting 3 times a week I’m finding I’m not motivated to train and am becoming stagnant. I have now switched to 5/3/1 and will be doing the two day a week template.

My goals? Good question thanks for asking. To become awesome in a ninja like manner that would make Michael Dudikoff explode the back of his pants. Actually I have goal ADD if that makes any sense. I want to get bigger and leaner and faster and more explosive and stronger and be able to do the splits and 1-arm push-ups and muscle ups and the human flag. Realistically though my goals are to do the splits (front and box), squat 150kg and put more size on the upper body. There are plenty of others but these three I will commit to for now. I’m 6’4 and around 92kg at the moment. I’d love to add some muscle and lose some fat but I’ll just put in during the training sessions and see how I go. I will be taking before, progress and after pics. I don’t have the gumption to post them though.

The two day a week template is as follows:

Week 1
    Day 1:
    Squats 5/3/1, more squats 5x10, SLDL 5x10 and abs (hanging leg raises and ab wheel)
    Day 2:
    Bench 5/3/1, Incline BB press 5x10, DB Rows, Bicep Curls, push-ups

Week 2
    Day 1:
    Deadlift 5/3/1, Squats 5x10, good mornings 5x10, abs (same as above)
    Day 2:
    OHP 5/3/1, Chins 5x10, Dips 5x10, Bicep curls, push-ups

Starting maxes for the lifts are (as per the 5/3/1 protocol I will take 90% of these maxes as my working max):
    Squat – 125kg
    Deadlift – 130kg
    Bench – 90kg
    OHP – 50kg