My first MT experience and a very interesting conversation

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Slavist, Oct 2, 2005.

1. Slavist

Slavist New Member

So, I am stuck in my dorm on a Saturday night, because I am on duty, so I decided to share with you my first MT experience and a very interesting conversation I had today with an MT practitioner. This post is not about bragging or anything, I am just sharing my experience.

First some background. I have been doing TKD-Moo Duk Kwan for about nine months now. I have enjoyed the experience immensely, because we are a very old fashioned school. The slightest mistake can result in knuckle push-ups and when we spar, we spar heavy contact withoutany protection. However, I have never liked the forms part of the art, but I can see some of their benefits. Despite loving the experience, my ultimate goal is to do a Muay Thai and Judo combo (maybe in law school).

Just recetly, I met a Korean guy who is rushing my fraternity, and who has been doing MT+BJJ for about 1.5 years now and is a black belt in TKD. He is absolutely amazing at kicking and puncking and is having his first fight in several months. Long story short, I went to do some pad-work with him today. We did mid-level and low roundhouses and knees.

I am really happy to say that he was absolutely impressed by the power of my roundhouses and knees. He said that my mechanics need a lot of work (I already knew that) but he said that if I was packing so much power in it like that, I should be absolutely devastating with proper technique :D My biggest problem was not turning my hip early enough and making a short step before I kick. Also, he said my knees were really good, despite the fact I have never trained them. We will now start doing pad work once a week and some sparring on a less regular basis. I am still continuing with TKD.