Musicians? Where ya at?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by RexKwonDo Jones, Feb 7, 2013.

1. RexKwonDo Jones

RexKwonDo Jones Valued Member

Just outta curiosity, how many of you fine folks on MAP are of musical inclination? I play the bass and harmonica myself. What instruments do you guys play? What kinda music? Can I have a dollar?

:banana:

Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  2. RexKwonDo Jones

I can't believe I spelled musicians wrong in the title of the thread XD

3. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter

Seems fine to me...

;) :)

4. RexKwonDo Jones

haha! Thanks for being my guardian grammar angel!

5. aikidoka-je

aikidoka-je Blue Floral Belt

Acoustic guitar and Yueqin here!

6. RexKwonDo Jones

Had to Youtube that. Guitar Center sure doesn't sell any of those lol

7. Omicron

Omicron is around.

I've been playing saxophone for about 20 years. I got my bachelors degree in jazz saxophone, which also required me to learn piano, flute, and clarinet. After graduating, I played professionally in musicals and for movie soundtracks for a few years before going back to school to pursue my other great love: science. I'm now mostly focused on my medical school studies, but I still have a few saxophone students on the side as something of a hobby. If I can find the time, I'd love to start up a jazz big band one of these days. I've started transcribing and writing out instrumental parts, but it's a lot of work and I'm pretty pressed for time these days.

8. RexKwonDo Jones

Man. That is all so awesome! So you're a 29 year old jazz saxophonist, who is in medical training.... You must be a pretty big hit with the ladies! ;)

Do you have anyone helping you out or are you just writing the parts yourself? I would offer to help or to lend some bass but I can't read or write a bit of music beyond being able to tell what the individual notes are! Do you have any of your work uploaded to any sites?

9. Omicron

Omicron is around.