Muay Thai Academies in Birmingham?

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by Deity, Jan 18, 2013.

1. Deity

Deity New Member

Hello. I'm a student and I'd like to join a Muay Thai gym mainly for my self-esteem/confidence. So far I only know of K-Star (http://www.k-starthaiboxing.com/) and Black Widow Martial Arts Academy (http://www.blackwidowmartialarts.com/) What I can't understand is why none of them have the prices displayed. And none of them have a Q&A section, like how much time after the first lesson you need to buy the required equipment? I saw around three posts on this forum about K-Star and how they're mainly interested in ripping off they're students but they do an ok job as well, I couldn't know how false or true those statement were, maybe I can get a more recent opinion? Anyone heard of Black Widow and recommends it? If not, can you please recommend others? Thanks and sorry for all the questions, but I really want to make the right choice and stick with it no matter what.

2. Teflon

Teflon Valued Member

I train at K-Star and had reservations before joining, due to the things posted on this forum and others (money-grabbing etc). Certainly the intro felt that way too at the time, but I'm glad I took a chance and signed up. You can find out prices, schedules and anything else you need to by calling the phone number for K-Star, though gyms will be closing up in a few hours because of the snow today. You can get a free 1-on-1 intro booked when you call too, and possibly some free lessons, so its not like you cant try before you join :)

I don't know much about Black Widow, though I believe they were started by an ex-instructor from K-Star.

Ultimately, I'd suggest calling them up, booking an intro, and seeing what you think by going :)

3. Deity

Deity New Member