Morning Fasted Cardio

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by sean, Apr 15, 2006.

1. sean

sean THOR!

Looking to get my body fat below 5% (currently under 10%) so going to help my nurtitional needs along a bit with some morning fasted cardio. Before leaving I'm aware of what to consume, but the rate of cardio is yet to be decided!

Im currently in the mindset of -

20 minute session consisting of aerobic respiration, most likely light jogging.

Will this be adequate, or will the time need to be extended?

Note:
    • Im aware of the potential for it to be catabolic, but I hope for it to only be mildly catabolic with the correct technique. ;)
    • I'll only be doing this weekends as I do not want to sacrifice sleep.

2. Banpen Fugyo

Banpen Fugyo 10000 Changes No Surprise

I'm no expert.. but isnt 5% a little... not good?

3. kmguy8

kmguy8 Not Sin Binned

5% is quite low... generally anything less than 8% impedes athletic performance
    however, you might be able to handle it if you are under 10% and have not been doing any cardio to get to that point

i would highly recommend diet and interval training

the elimination of sugar and simple starches from bread in your diet, watching your caloric intake depending on your workout schedule will allow your body to not store fat as easiy... (my body likes to store fat when i get that low)

i would start by doing 18 minutes of interval training 4 times a week. i would use a treadmill and run 2 minutes at a slow jog (4-5 mph) and then have an interval cycle of 30sec to 1 minute in duration at 9-10 mph... repeat until allotted time is over.. i would do it later in the day tues and thurs (to save that sleeping time)and both saturday and sunday whenever

morning fasted workouts might be more catabolic than midday once you have some energy..... also durations longer than 20 minutes for someone of your bf% will be catabolic....

my guess is these two simple additions will have you at 5% in a month or two....