Mook yan jong / Wooden Dummy

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Louied11, May 16, 2016.

1. Louied11

Louied11 New Member

Hi All,

This is my first post to the forum, so apologies if this has been covered in the past...

I am relatively new to Wing Chun, and fully understand that I will not be ready to train on the wooden dummy for a while yet. However I am looking to buy a 'raw' hardwood log to season/mature myself over the next few months/years, in order to make my own.

This is not something I am taking lightly and is nothing to do with affordability. I am willing to invest time (and money) in making this, I just want it to be a more personal item than just buying one online. I have a friend who works in bespoke wood design/furniture who will be assisting, so the job will be done right.

All I am really looking for is a supplier of quality hardwood, who will be willing to sell me 1 log/tree (whatever you'd like to call it). I haven't decided exactly which material I would like to use yet so a supplier with a range would be great. I will obviously going over size/specifications with my Sifu before starting work on completing it.

Thanks in advance,

Lou

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Did you Google "hardwood suppliers" into Google? It's normally a really good start.

3. Louied11

Louied11 New Member

I certainly did - all it comes up with is generic fire-wood suppliers though. And to save filtering through the 6,948,392,323,109 Google results, thought it may be a better place to start here, with people who would have specific knowledge/experience of exactly what I need the wood for, or who may have a decent recommendation... As oppose to a supplier who wouldn't give an Adalia bipunctata if he was sell me any old crap.

Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2016
  4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award