Moc Kan Sent - Fla. Kung Fu Inst.?

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by masterfinger, Sep 2, 2003.

1. masterfinger

masterfinger New Member

When I was 10 yrs old (about 32 yrs ago!) I studied Kung Fu from a gentleman named Moc Kan Sent in Miami, Florida. I was only with him for about a year. I think it was Choy Li Fut that he taught but I'm not sure. Does anyone have any info on him? I would appreciate any replies. Thanx.

2. jmd161

jmd161 Hak Fu Mun

masterfinger,

Never heard that name before.

I know there is a sifu here that teaches Choy Lay Fut that's from Hong Kong.He does'nt have a big school or anything.He starts out teaching CLF then when he see's that you are serious he will teach you Praying Mantis or Eagle Claw,but i've forgotten what his name is.

I'm not downing CLF those were his own words.I talked to him on the phone.It actually could be the name you're asking about? But it does'nt sound familiar.I could call and find out if you like?

jeff:)

3. masterfinger

masterfinger New Member

Thanks Jeff, I appreciate the info.

4. Ismael García

Ismael García New Member

Masterfinger.Moc kan Sent ( Impenetrable Golden Wall)was a Cantonese Master of several martial arts, among the Chinese arts he knew Choy Ka(Gar), Hung Ka, Southerm praying mantis.Among the Japanese arts he taught Ju do , Karate do, Aiki do and Ken do. He left continental China just before Mao's revolution, next he lived in Cuba but he left just before Castro revolution, next he lived in Venezuela, and lived in México City until the Mexican government of the 70s forced him to train paramilitary forces, after that, to avoid linking this represive actions with the government he was exiled. He went to live in Florida where you meet him as a child. In Mexico he left disciples who later introduced "modern" wushu from continental China(Francisco Valles Quintana) and part of the traditional systems like Hung Ka from Hong Kong (Virgilio Sánchez González). His Family still lives in Miami Florida.