Meditation as good as sleeping

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Macca, Jan 4, 2007.

1. Macca

Macca Valued Member

Meditation...

Hello people, just a question really that i thought i'd ask ya...

Earlier today my TKD instructor said to me that meditating for 15 minutes a day is just as good as getting 4 hours sleep!

Is this true? Because i do not really believe that...lol

Thanks
    Macca :)

2. Cowardly Clyde

Cowardly Clyde Valued Member

So if thats the case then you could meditate for 30 mins and no longer require sleep!
    Seems a bit far fetched.....but i'm no expert on the subject, would love to here from somebody who is!

3. Lily

Lily Valued Member

Macca - its like saying head high TKD kicks will help you win a pub brawl

4. Macca

Macca Valued Member

Well...you never know :cool:

5. timex

timex Valued Member

Wish that were true!!!!

6. Pacificshore

Pacificshore Hit n RUN!

I'll try it at work let you know :p

7. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

Why do I expect that this instructor cannot teach one how to meditate in this manner? :rolleyes:

8. Lily

Lily Valued Member

OK, now that I've had my silly response I'll give you a serious response Macca.

Deep meditation (for the experienced practitioner) can be used to centre oneself, focus, relax etc. I don't think that it is a replacement for sleep but I do think in a situtation where you are under pressure, tired and cannot sleep due to whatever demands, it can be used. Your instructor's formula has no basis that I can think of (unless he can provide it).

I would personally drink a Red Bull if I were in that situation.

9. wudangfajing

wudangfajing Banned Banned

I can say i disagree with your instructure an i meditate alot.