MACHIDA INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO REVIEW

Discussion in 'Karate' started by aaron_mag, Jun 4, 2009.

1. aaron_mag

aaron_mag New Member Supporter

EDIT: THE TITLE OF THIS THREAD IS SUPPOSED TO BE MACHIDA INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEO REVIEW. Sorry.

I had ordered these instructional video before the Rashad fight and they came in yesterday. I watched the first video last night. There are four in total and I'll update as I watch each of them.

DISC 1

For anyone who doubts Machida does karate all you have to do is watch this first video. It is pure karate 101. There is even kata. This is good and bad. Good in that, while he calls it 'Machida Karate' it is just karate fundamentals. Bad in that I found myself trying to stay awake as he explained the karate stance, footwork, kicks, etc. You have to understand ITF TKD pre-sine wave (which is what I practice) is almost identical to what he is showing on the screen. I've been doing it for over 20 years so it wasn't like any of it was new information and it was like 11 pm at night by the time I got through watching it.

It was still important for me to watch it, however, because he reinforces the fundamentals. I must hang my head in shame and admit that I had veered away from concepts like moving, kicking, and punching as if you were balancing a book on your head. I used to be very good at performing moves with very little head movement. And this tactic works very well in point-style sparring. As I have cross-trained, however, I started falling more in love with power than on the deceptive/elusive nature of keeping your head firmly at your center at all times. Shame on me for secretly doubting some of the basics I'd been taught.