Lunge Punch or Straight Punch

Discussion in 'Ju Jitsu' started by Obitim, May 22, 2013.

1. Obitim

Obitim New Member

Evening all,

I'm a complete noob in the forum but have a question regarding throwing a punch in Jujitsu.

In my first club, when performing a hip throw, a punch would be thrown by the uke from a boxing stance with a right cross. You would then block, grab the arm and pull the uke off balance and then go for the throw.

In 2 of the new clubs I've trained at, the punch was instead thrown as a lunge (well, not precisely lunge, but also not a haymaker, the uke steps forward as the punch).

I was curious which was correct? The reason I ask is that for a lunge punch at my original training club we would use a throw called a drawing ankle throw instead as the uke was coming towards you and therefore already off balance.

Cheers!

2. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Correct for what?

I'm not being funny there but you have three different clubs there and probably three different styles.

There are many different styles of jujutsu and the attacks used and trained against will vary depending on the style.

In a modern western system you may well see lots of "Boxing" style strikes but in older Japanese systems you'll find more hammer hand, overhead fists, open hand strikes, dagger usage and sleve grabs.

Last edited: May 22, 2013
  3. Obitim

Obitim New Member

Good point Dean, I guess what I'm gettign at is which would be more useful?

Personally I preferred the 'boxing' stance style as a lot of people do MMA and other fighting styles.

I should have mentioned the other 2 clubs that demonstrated the 'traditional' punch are 2 separate schools but did have a lot of crossover in terms of instructors

4. righty

righty Valued Member

Again more useful for what?

You should aim to be able to do the technique from both a stepping and non-stepping punch (or whatever you want to call them).