Low Carb, High Fatting??

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Victoria, Apr 12, 2008.

1. Victoria

Victoria Pretzel In Training

Low carb diets are hardly fresh news. But something I've come across a lot lately is people already on low carb diets, switching to even lower carbs with lower protein and even higher fat, called "high-fatting". These people aren't necessarily fitness fanatics, a lot of them are actually inactive Joe Bloggs (women :rolleyes: ).

The theory behind this seems to be that by eating all that fat, you'll actually lose more fat than you would on lower fat diets.

Typical values per day as follows:

Low carb - 20g
    Lower protein - 60g
    With 80% of your days calories coming from FAT.

Here's the recommended sources for fat:
    Butter, lard, bacon grease and other animal fats, olive oil, coconut and other vegetable oils, mayonnaise, cream cheese, hard cheese, nuts.

I'm no expert on good fats and bad fats, but they don't all look like the good sources to me, and many people on this diet are unable to distinguish between good and bad fats, it's all fat to them.

At first glance this looks insane to me, 20g carbohydrate is too low IMO even for a low carb diet, and all that fat can't be healthy surely?
    But, I'm willing to stand corrected. In fact I'd love someone to tell me this diet is healthy, works for weight loss, and that these dieters aren't mad!

So firstly, how low do you think is too low for a low carb diet? 20g? 100g?

And secondly, do you think that 80% of your calories coming fat, whether good or bad fat, is healthy as a method of weight loss?

Maybe someone here is on a similar diet or familiar with the concept?

I'm baffled.

2. flaming

flaming Valued Member

Omega 3 is the best type of fat. Whats healthier polyunsaturated fat or saturated fat?

3. Victoria

You may want to stay away from saturated fat.

Omega 3 is an essential fatty acid, and is err, essential :D

4. Gary

Gary Vs The Irresistible Farce Supporter