Left

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by cheesypeas, Dec 28, 2007.

1. cheesypeas

cheesypeas Moved on

Hi All,

Does anyone else here practice their frames/forms Left Side?

If so...

When did do start learning left?
    Were you taught it or were you left to teach it to yourself?
    What differences do you percieve between right and left?
    What value would you put on left practice?
    Is it necessary to learn it?

2. unfetteredmind

unfetteredmind Valued Member

Not any more but I used to with a form I no longer practice. It was a reasonably interesting thing to do but I don't think it is necessary. I started learning the mirror form about one year after I completed the original version (and was taught it). I think there is a danger of bogging down my practice with too many forms.

3. jkzorya

jkzorya Moved on by request

We train everything on both sides and consider it more important than learning lots of things on one side. But here I'm talking about individual techniques or short technique sequences, whether trained with or without contact, as we do very little by way of long linked sequences. We think that the fact that it is quite difficult to reverse a specific ingrained long movement sequence shows why it is important to do it on both sides.

That said, if we do do a longer solo sequence, I often tell the students to practice it on the other side when they get home as I'd rather they really got it on one side in the class than just half getting it on both. So it all kind of depends on them and how much time we've got (and a bit on what sort of mood I'm in, but I never said that.)

Last edited: Dec 28, 2007
  4. tpyeon

tpyeon Valued Member

in my first ever forms competition many years ago... i was so nervous i did the form the mirror image way and it was easy until i realised i was doing it. and totally froze. funny considering i had never actually tried to do that before.