Leaving GKR, what should I study now?

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Mr. Haller, Dec 8, 2010.

1. Mr. Haller

Mr. Haller Valued Member

Hey all,

It may not surprise most of you that after gaining my yellow belt at GKR karate, I have decided to leave.
    I have to admit that I'm a total beginner which is why I joined GKR, as I knew nothing about them and martial arts, but I was however interested in learning a martial art - hence why I joined.
    A friend of mine started with them, and then asked me to join with him. I did, as I wanted to join a dojo for ages. At first, when I knew nothing, it all seemed OK. But at my first grading, for yellow belt, I noticed the flaws in the 'style'. I over heard one guy (an 'instructor') telling my friend that he was asked to become an instructor when he was a yellow belt, he was a blue belt at the time of this conversation. Even though I don't really know anything, I could sense that this wasn't right. The said guy didn't find it odd to be an instructor and not have a dan. Then there was the actual grading . . . this really let me down, in my opinion at least. I was one of about 3 adults there. Some teenagers filled the middle ranks and the overwhelming majority where very young children. As an adult I was pushed hard to get the basics right which is good. But when showing the kata, I really couldn't believe it. The children didn't have a clue, they wondered around like lost sheep. Others knew it but weren't really trying. I worked my guts out to make sure I got it as good as I could. What got me was when everyone passed, yep, everyone. How can you pass when you don't know your right from your left or your kata? I at least expected some to fail. That was my first let down, I just felt the standards were low.