Learning to train disabled people

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by KickyFaerie, Oct 28, 2005.

1. KickyFaerie

KickyFaerie New Member

Hi there,
    I'm a French and IT teacher and am I'd like to become a martial arts (Savate - French Kickboxing) trainer in the years to come.
    I have had a few students in the past who were disable but since they were the outgoing battling type (in a good way) I had my work cut out for me.

There's a few things I'd need help with:
    1. I would like to encourage disabled people to try out the various activities I teach and enjoy: how best can I do that?

2. I'd like to learn more about how best/whether I should react when I meet disabled people. Do you guys in the disabled community want/expect to be treated differently or not? (What's the general consensus?)

3. I'd like to know what I can do to adapt my skills to be able to teach disabled people properly.

Any suggestions?

Cheers!
    :)

2. iHeretic

iHeretic Not-for-Prophet

I don't really know about the first one because the disabled people who will give it a go will eventually find you themselves, so perhaps your best bet is just to be seen in local newspapers and such.

I probably wouldn't bother contacting many disabled organisations as people who are in regular contact with those are more often than not the ones you aren't looking for (this is crip logic for you).

The ones you are looking for are more likely to be found reading local newspapers, so if you advertise at all the addition of the line "all physical abilities welcome" is probably all you need. Don't use the word disabled or they'll scan over the top of it! I found my sensei by asking, not by answering an advert for "disabled martial artist wanted".