Learning at home

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Mr_Massacre, Apr 20, 2004.

1. Mr_Massacre

Mr_Massacre New Member

I'm currently thinking about joining a Judo class, I'm not a total beginner, I did Judo a long time ago and ive studied a bit about it. I was wondering, can you get information on moves etc from the internet or where ever, and come to the dojo and use them? so for example, when you grade as a whitebelt, can you pull out all these advanced moves?

2. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

If you want to pull off moves in a competition (ie a grading) you need to have practiced it properly first. That involves an opponent. You will not be able to perform a technique learned on your own. After you get to a certain point in your training you might be able to get the basic idea of a technique from a book and then work on it with a partner in class, but until you get to the mid/high ranks, it's probably best to stick with regular teaching.

3. Mr_Massacre

Mr_Massacre New Member

But is it allowed? If you study and train the art with a partner and get good at it, can you use what youve learnt at home in the dojo/grading?

4. Aegis

You can use anything you've picked up anywhere in competition unless it's against the rules to do so. :)

5. saikyou

saikyou New Member

agree. i improved my o soto gari from watching yamashita and kimura. :D

6. agent

agent New Member

Mr. Massacre, www.judoinfo.com is simply the best website for learning. It has excellent animations. Learning at home is the most effective way of learning. Obviously in Judo you need to put the time in training with an opponent, but you can practice technique on your own. Also, got any brothers or sisters? Use 'em, or maybe your parents!
    Have a good long study of the practical techniques on the site and practice them

7. Aegis