Kung Fu 'McDojos'

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Shadow_of_Evil, May 8, 2006.

1. Shadow_of_Evil

Shadow_of_Evil wants to go climbing...

Hey guys, I've been thinking of trying out Kung Fu for a while. I've been doing Muay Thai and TKD for 16 years now and well I think it's time for a change.
    Want to see what else is out there for me and all that.
    Now as someone who dosn't really know all that much about Kung Fu, how it's taught etc, I could possibly be a sucker for some stupid Kung Fu Mcdojo to take my money. Thing is, I understand what makes a Muay Thai McDojo a McDojo (same with TKD) but I don't know what to look for in a Kung Fu school.

What should I be looking for, to tell me wether or not I'll be wasting my money and learning bollocks? What are the tell tale signs of any cheapo Kung Fu academy? I know this is kind of a vague question, but so is my knowledge of good Kung Fu teaching methods.
    Thanks

2. oldman

oldman Banned Banned

First of all I would start with a traditional style and not a hybrid that will cut your losses of mc dojo if it is expensive then the school is driven by money and getting students in and out. Look for linage of the style and check there creditionals if they belong to an association or not. But if the association is called blue dragon fly’s south society etc etc steer well clear.

If you apply common sense as you did with tkd and mt you wont go far wrong. But be warned kung fu is nothing like MT or tkd be prepared for a shock :eek: There so many styles out there and they wil all contradict the other :eek:

hope that helps

3. DRMA

DRMA Valued Member