Kumite with Black Belts

Discussion in 'Karate' started by JBomb123, Jun 26, 2011.

1. JBomb123

JBomb123 Valued Member

Hi there,

I've been doing BJJ for about 2.5 years and am white belt four stripes. I'm not very good at it due to:
    - A range of permanent injuries, and
    - Weight differences - I'm 67+ pounds lighter than everyone else.

In karate I'm a Brown Belt third Kyu, been doing this for a bit over 2.5 years.

I have a few things to say/ask other members, but for today just itnroducing myself and checking out the threads. Look forward to chatting with you all.

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

3. JBomb123

JBomb123 Valued Member

Good grief - the kids have actually left me alone and I can get back to this!

So I'm a Brown Belt, not very good, I think they keep grading me just because I keep turning up. I try my best, but there's a lot of things I'll never be able to do right. That in itself is OK, I'm happy with what I can do.

My main problem is sparring - as you would expect, I'm only allowed to spar the Black Belts (BB). That's fine, we have four in our dojo, and they're all fine. They completely dominate all sparring and leave me bruised, but they hold back and show some respect. By "respect" I mean (for example) if I land something they kind of pause for a second to illustrate "Yeah, you got me, if this was real I'd be in pain right now".

But there's the one (new) Black Belt who just beats the snot out of me. When I started training he was Brown, and he's been beating the crap out of me since I was a Yellow Belt. He doesn't hold back in technique or force, and routinely bashes me up every time we spar. Whereas I (and everyone else) does light contact, and expect that "respect" I mentioned earlier, he takes the view that if I didn't actually break one of his ribs then he's not pausing for anything.