Knuckles

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by loadsa, Jul 10, 2010.

1. loadsa

loadsa Valued Member

Hi Guys,

Not too sure if this is in the right forum or not, but I figured the boxers would have more experience.

I've been doing a self defence striking class for about 4-5 months now, and the problem is I keep cracking the knuckle of my ring finger (right hand). Whilst i'm aware that this is a sort of occupational hazard, I'd like to know if anyone knows of anyway I could speed up the healing process.

Cheers,

Dan

2. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

Don't punch with that hand until it gets better and go see a doctor.

3. loadsa

loadsa Valued Member

I have seen the doc previously, and was told the same thing...lay off that hand, which I have been doing...I was just wondering if more experienced people had any little tricks / old wives tales that they swear by to either speed up the process, or could give me any tips to stop it happening in the first place.

But cheers for the advice.

4. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

handwraps?

also, what exactly are you doing that hurts your knuckles?

5. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

Another for wraps. YouTube or slips's thread somewhere will show you how to wrap

6. loadsa

loadsa Valued Member

I haven't tried wraps yet, so thanks for the heads up.

It's just different strikes, pre-emptive stuff on focus pads, but I must admit it's mainly the hook that gets me, straight rights I'm ok with, and even a left hook is ok. I just assumed that that was because i've a lot more power in my right.

7. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

Is your fist horizontal or vertical in the hook? Try switching to the other?? Might help

8. loadsa

loadsa Valued Member

My fist is vertical when I hook. It sounds strange but, other than when I'm cracking my knuckle, it's much more comfortable that way. But I'll definitely give it more of a go horizontally. Can't hurt...well not anymore anyway, lol.

9. Fish Of Doom