knee arthrosis and patella tendon pain

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by julio kodokan, Oct 12, 2008.

1. julio kodokan

julio kodokan MUAY THAY & BRAZILIAN JIU-JITSU Student

I am 52 years old, doing karate and judo for 25 years (and now a bit of kravmaga)....a bad knee is bothering me.Nowadays I have from time to time a strong pain in the patella tendon and first signs of arthrosis in the MR scanning.That comes from biomechanics alterations after a fracture in a car accident 30 years ago.My routine now has been no jogging and stationary bicycle,a lot of stretching before the trainning and taking condroitin and glucosamine suplements.I am doing less kicks with the bad leg, and I am doing less karate...kravmaga and jiujitsu seems less traumatic to the knee than the shotokan low stances.What is even worst is the fact that I am a surgeon and doctors always think the worst can happen :-D e.g. to not be able to train.So, one thing is the objective disable joint the other thing is the disable mind when you are afraid to loose what you love in your life....Does anyone has a boring experience like this? :bang::bang::bang:OSS juliokodokan

Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  2. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

I Feel Your Pain