Kickboxing V's TKD

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by julesgrant22, Sep 19, 2005.

1. julesgrant22

julesgrant22 New Member

I am currently a Tae Kwon Do student but my University does free Kickboxing. I wouldnt leave Tae Kwon Do but would it be a good idea to do Kickboxing as well?
    My TKD INstructor does do Kickboxing but in another town and if I did try it, I would probably try it through someone I know first.
    Id be grateful for your help!

2. eagelclaw

eagelclaw Valued Member

I think it is a great idea to study kick boxing and do TDK at the same timeā€¦..the two arts by my knowledge are not radically different.
    Plenty of my friends take both of the sports and they seem to enjoy them selves very much, and dont complain of the two clashing.

I which my university did free kick boxing....well thats "the university collage of london" for you.........or maby they do... and iam just lazy fool and not found out yet.... :D

3. Jamesy

Jamesy Valued Member

yeah go for it after all its free!! When you say your instructor does it do you mean teaches or takes part in classes?

4. Hiroji

Hiroji laugh often, love much

i do both at my uni. Ive had no problems just give it a go.

5. julesgrant22

julesgrant22 New Member

Thanks for your advice.
    I noticed loads of signs last year for Kickboxing and looked into it a bit more.
    At one school, my instructor offers Kickboxing so obviously Id prefer to try it under a familiar face before doing it at uni.
    I need to increase strength and another style could be useful.
    Thanks again and Ill look into t when i return to uni next week for my second year!

6. DangerMouse

DangerMouse Dazed & Confused

I've known people to have converted from TKD to kickboxing, and they found the changeover quite easy. Just takes a bit of time to get the hands going as good as the legs.

Be careful though, you may find you love KB so much that you don't want to carry on with TKD ;)