Kettlebell

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by aaradia, Dec 3, 2021.

1. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

I just bought my first kettlebell. I need to work on my strength and flexibility.

I thought some of the kettlebell exercises lend to developing more range of motion as you build your strength. Also, I bought an adjustable one, I live in a small place, so I really don't have room for a whole barbell, dumbbell set up. The picture attached is what I bought. I got a really good "Cyber Monday deal."

I have never used one before. I do have experience with barbells and dumbbells.

I just wanted to see what tips anyone here might have for me. What is your experience with kettlebells? Any tips you have for a newbie? Any particular exercises you found useful as a martial artist? Any you found are ones to stay away from?

Really, any discussion kettlebell related would be welcome.

upload_2021-12-3_11-24-14.jpeg

Grond and Nachi like this.
  2. Nachi

Nachi Valued Member Supporter

Oh, kettlebell is a great thing! I have one - 16 kg and I find that's the weight that works well for all the exercise I'm doing. I might need a slightly lighter one for snatches, but that's about it.

I haven't done a work-out with it for a few months now, but I am certainly planning to, again, hopefully soon.
    I am no expert, but I learned several exercises when I was going to a CrossFit gym. My tips would be to keep your back straight, not push the knees over the toes (those are quite obvious) and for most things, the power would actually be coming from the lower half of the body as opposed to arms, be it for clean & jerks, snatches, swings, etc.

My list of exercises, if you need inspiration:
    - Russian/American swing
    - Goblet squat
    - Lunge
    - Single-leg Romanian deadlift
    - Clean and push press
    - Shoulder press
    - Windmill

And a few more I don't do that often and haven't much experience with: