Karate + Judo ?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by WebbMonk, Mar 19, 2004.

1. WebbMonk

WebbMonk New Member

I'm currently studying Karate and my dojo, and for the same price I can attend a Judo class as well. My question: is Judo helpfull for self defence or is it just for competitions? I saw a similar topic a page back or so, but after about 3 posts you guys were talken in the Japanese names wich are hard for me do figure out. I feel like I would be safe in a close fight, ie if someone grabbed me and whatnot with just Karate. Would Judo be a help for real fighting?

- DarkMonk

2. Hybrid_Killer

Hybrid_Killer New Member

Judo is very good for SD and fighting and its grappling and groundwork would go well with karate.Id say judo is much better for close fighting and scenarios where people grab you then karate is.

3. Adam

Adam New Member

Based on my own limited experience with judo, I'd say it depends on the mindset with which you train. Judoka seem to get all too caught up in tournament rules and ineffective throws not doing any damage as well as not following up on your moves with submissions. I also think that the easiest thing in the world would be to smack a judoka in the face, as they don't have any kind of striking defense (in sporting judo at least). Still, judo has brilliant techniques for taking people down and injuring at the same time and has submission moves and chokes galore, although they're not trained a lot in most judo. Problem with judo as a self-defense art is the rules and the very great focus on tournaments IMO.

4. DAT

DAT Valued Member

Why wouldn't armbars, chokes and devastating throws add to your self defense prowess :confused:

5. Adam

Adam New Member

Because judoka usually train them in a tournament fashion, not for real fighting. For instance, you train a lot of tripping moves, but when the opponent is down, you DON'T follow up with strikes or submissions. Tripping somebody isn't going to win you any fight, is it?

6. SoKKlab