Kali vs. Defendo CQB

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by Spike27, May 15, 2005.

1. Spike27

Spike27 New Member

I was wondering how crosstraining in Kali (Sulwan)/Kuntao/Silat would compare to Defendo CQB, hearing it's (Defendo) very brutal, realistic and fast like Kali's empty hand. For those who do not know what Defendo CQB is:
    By CQB:

"I've been training in Modern Defendo for over 2 yrs now. I presently am the Head Instructor for our Children's and Teen's programs (gotta love kids although they can drive you crazy!).

Before MD I trained in Pankration for a number of years. I enjoyed Pankration immensely! The kickboxing game with the grappling game. Brutal. Full contact. Great cardio training as well. (I'm sweating just thinking about it!).

Then I started bouncing at a night club and working as a loss prevention officer part time. I quickly learned that my Pankration training was NOT very effective for dealing with ejecting unruly patrons, effecting arrests, etc. Pankration was great for sparring or all out brawling. But for gradually moving up the use-of-force model during an altercation, Pankration left me with little options because the Pankration I was training in was more suited for the application of sport (ie. sparring, tournament fighting, MMA, etc). The application I needed to quickly get good at (ie. bouncing/security & law enforcement) led me to Modern Defendo.