JKD & Fencing

Discussion in 'Jeet Kune Do' started by pmosiun, Jun 27, 2008.

1. pmosiun

pmosiun Valued Member

Hi, i have read a thread on whether studying Wing Chun would help their JKD. I was wondering about a similar thing after reading that thread whether studying fencing would help a person's JKD?

2. Semper Fi

Semper Fi Valued Member

Short answer. No.

3. Joe917

Joe917 New Member

I would have to disagree and say yes. Is it the best option? probably not. but the foot movement is similar. Also the explosive movements of JKD are largely based on fencing. From what I have been reading granted I am not a expert on the subject.

4. fire cobra

fire cobra Valued Member

I would of thought it would help with the understanding of where B Lee got some of(quite a lot of?)his combat principles,Range awareness,a straight hit,deception,footwork penetration,cadence,rhythmn etc etc:)

5. Semper Fi

Semper Fi Valued Member

While I agree with you that he got a lot of his principles from fencing ie.. small phasic bent-knee stance, I do not think you need to take fencing to help you with your JKD as it is part of JKD already.

6. Yohan

Yohan In the Spirit of Yohan Supporter

I personally think that cross training in anything once you've got a solid base in your JKD is going to help you. Cross training is one of the principles of JKD. Additionally, weapons training has always been part of JKD training too.

7. Arnoo

Arnoo Work in Progress

I would only do it if you really wanted to do fencing yourself since it will not help your jkd that much you'd be better of stuyding other MA's to help your JKD. Unless you really fancy fencing ofc ;)

8. Simplicity

Simplicity Valued Member