JKA Check In

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Dirk Dagger, Jan 28, 2004.

1. Dirk Dagger

Dirk Dagger I Love Kelly Hu

Hello Everybody!

I would just like to know if there are any JKA Karatekas out there. Let me know who you are by posting your names, rank/grade, and from what country you are from.

I'm Dirk, friends call me Dagger. I am from JKA Philippines, currently a 1st kyu Brown Belt and working my way to get the most coveted 1st Dan. I train at JKA Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines. :D

This is a picture of some of the first students of our Xavier University Chapter. There are a lot of JKA Chapters in Cagayan de Oro and ours is one of them. We are one BIG family here. That's me on the far left and our instructor, is Amado Abao, Sensei. The fifth person from the left.

2. Paul Herbert

Paul Herbert New Member

Hi ~ another JKA karate-ka here. I'm a student of the late Sensei Keionsuke Enoeda 9th Dan JKA and now train under Sensei Yoshinobu Ohta, 6th Dan JKA and chief instructor to England and Scotland. I've been training over 20 years and hold the rank of 4th Dan. Anymore JKA guys or girls out there?

3. Dirk Dagger

Hi Paul,

I've seen your website and it sure is cool. I've only been training in Karate for over five years now. Glad that you posted in this thread. That's Sensei Ohta with you in the picture right? I've only read about Sensei Enoeda in the Karate Magazines. Hey, have you trained with Andy Sherry and Frank Brennan?

4. Paul Herbert

Paul Herbert New Member

Hi Dirk - The picture above is actually myself and Sensei Enoeda taken at the JKA Crystal Palace course in London a few years back. I've trained with Andy Brennan and Frank Brennan many times, most notably when I was on the KUGB England squad. It's a shame you never got a chance to train with Sensei Enoeda. I don't know if he ever visited the Philippines.

5. Ruthless Dragon

Ruthless Dragon New Member