jet li - taiji zen. thoughts?

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by jkdbro, Feb 13, 2014.

1. jkdbro

jkdbro Banned Banned

hey all!

this is my first post in here. i've been practicing JKD for a few years, but i just recently started practicing tai chi. i'm a major jet li fanboy, and when i heard he was coming out with his own style i had to check it out. this video gives a pretty good overview:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MdbFUWCnvCg"]Jet Li - Taiji Zen Company Vision - YouTube[/ame]

or here's their website - Link removed

i've been learning online but i don't know much about tai chi so i can't tell if their system is any good. what do you guys think? (cross posting this in the kung fu, beginners, and tai chi sections)

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2014
  2. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

As I believe the moderators will only allow one thread to continue, due to the cross posting policy on MAP, I'll respond here. I am guessing this is the one they will keep open.

Jet Li is absolutely my favorite Martial Arts film actor. And he was/ is a great Wushu martial artist.

But I am not a fan of online courses. I am disapponted he is choosing to promote the concept. Video's do not allow for an instructor to watch you and give feedback and input on your moves. To me, this is critical in learning Martial Arts.

3. taiji48

taiji48 Valued Member

Traditional Taiji is like plain yogurt.

TaijiZen is like yogurt with strawberry at the bottom, and a lot of sugar of course.

Some people like plain yogurt, because they know it is 100% good stuff.

Others need to be coaxed into having yogurt, because they have sweet tooth.

Taijizen is doing a great service to an over-stressed, over-westernized generation of young Chinese people, so that they can be coaxed into rediscovering the treasure in their backyard. And it won't be bad, because it has very competent Chen style Masters on board.