ITF Taekwondo Seminar

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Bgajdor1, Sep 20, 2012.

1. Bgajdor1

Bgajdor1 Valued Member

Hello all, this will be my first post on the forums, and I have a rather political question regarding ITF Taekwondo.

I'm a WTF Taekwondo student who will be testing for my green belt fairly soon. The school I'm at teaches some boxing steps (jab, cross, hook, uppercut, etc) as well as grappling (both standing and ground). They do grapple sparring, but no boxing sparring. Regardless, I'm glad to be at a taekwondo school that focuses a little bit on the boxing aspect so my hands will be alright.

My question is this: I want to expand my horizons from WTF Taekwondo to ITF Taekwondo, since I like ITF's style of sparring much more. Unfortunately I don't have access to any ITF schools in my area, and I like the TKD school I'm currently training at.

As a WTF student of Taekwondo, would I be allowed to attend ITF Taekwondo seminars and participate in their sparring drills and technique training?

By allowed, I wonder if it would be frowned upon by other ITF students at the seminar, since I'm a WTF student. Also, would it be appropriate to wear my green belt to an ITF seminar, or whichever rank I am in WTF Taekwondo? Or should I wear a white belt since I honestly don't have any experience in ITF Taekwondo?

Any answers are appreciated, thank you.

~ Ben

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.
    I'm sure some of the TKD guys will be along soon to answer your question.

3. Razgriz

Razgriz Valued Member

Hello Ben,

First welcome to MAP:

On the ITF seminar, it will really depend on whoes running it. I would recommend getting in touch with the organiser.

The problem will be when it comes to patterns etc, because you will not no were to begin.

But for kicking drills etc I cannot imagine why not.

So yea get in touch with the instructor running it.
    Who is it thats running it?

Raz

4. TKDstudent