Is my rotator cuff torn or just bruised?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by JayKayD, Jan 20, 2006.

1. JayKayD

JayKayD Meet my friend PAIN!

Well, im 100% ive injured my rotator cuff, but the problem is im not sure to what extent. I know this is a a fairly common injury, so does anyone know how much it hurts to have it torn?

When i first did it it hurt quite a lot and i did have the loss of some strength, but now about 1 week on it doesnt hurt unless i lift something relatively heavy. It doesnt really hurt that much when im not doing anything, except when i stretch my shoulder or something.

I'll probably go to the doctor next week for an x-ray just to be sure, but i was hoping for a MA planet diagnosis too :)

2. pablo147

pablo147 Valued Member

if it was torn you would probably be in a lot more pain, coulda just strained it. im no expert on the subject tho.

3. DEATHskull

DEATHskull TKD Bearfighter

I had the same problem about a year ago and these two articles helped me out alot. The first one describes exactly what happens when you injure your rotator cuff and what a doctor will do to test if it is torn or not, and the second one gives you some excercises to help rehabilitate it and to make it stronger. I've done the excercises with cables with good results. One thing I've noticed that helps me alot is when doing bench press to use about a shoulder width grip. Using anything wider puts more stress on your rotator cuff. Also don't go down all the way if you feel any pain or discomfort. I haven't been able to do shoulder presses since I hurt mine, but recently I just started doing them again with very low weight and I haven't been feeling any pain at all. Just be careful and don't push it too hard.

http://www.webmd.com/hw/joint_problems/hw61982.asp
    http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/dorian1.htm

4. GhostOfYourMind

GhostOfYourMind Bewaters lil Iron Monkey

DEATHskull gave good advice with benching and what not.