Is £30 per hour expensive for private WC tuition?

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Rakim, Feb 25, 2007.

1. Rakim

Rakim Valued Member

I can't go to a weekly class because of my shift pattern, but I inquired as to how much private sessions were and the instructor said it was £30 per hour, at his home which is properly kitted out with the wooden dummy, matted floor etc. Here's a link to the instructor's details (Steve Hazell). I need a little advice and I thought you guys might be able to help. Thanks in advance. :)

http://www.kentwingchun.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/instructors.htm

2. forever young

forever young Valued Member

yes especially from him!!!! who does he think he is with those prices Yip man?

3. cowzerp

cowzerp Valued Member

im a personal trainer and boxing coach and charge 20 pound a half hour for private boxing sessions-this is intensive, but thats normal personal training rates-is he a personal trainer? i doubt it, most kung fu teachers are screwing there students for training that is questionable at best-hope this helps

4. Rakim

Rakim Valued Member

Thanks a lot for your input lads, I'll let him know that unless he can do me a deal with the prices, I won't bother having private tuition. I suppose I could just go along to the normal lessons whenever I'm off work. There's just nowhere else close to me that teaches WC :bang:

5. prowla

prowla Valued Member

I guess there are two sides to it...
    Student perspective: If you train in a class for an hour for £5 (eg.), then is an hour's private tuition for £30 going to be 6 times better?
    Instructor's perspective: £30 for an hour of their time, including provision of facilities, and probably stretching out to an extra half hour for hellos, goodbyes and questions. Doesn't seem a lot, really.
    So I'd say it seems a lot, but it isn't a rip-off.

6. Rakim

Rakim Valued Member