Interested in Learning about Chinese Ninja

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Obake, Nov 15, 2015.

1. Obake

Obake Valued Member

Hello everyone, :)

I am an amateur historian and comic book writer living in the USA, you could say. I know that the ninja are not technically Chinese (although I have questions regarding the Chinese origin and Chinese founders) but I needed a marketing scheme. Calling them "Chinese Ninja" tends to draw smart people's attention because they immediately feel the urge to correct you lol.

But I'm looking for links or connections to a good source of information regarding historical Chinese assassins in general and a few deeper questions that aren't so easy to answer using Google's search engine. I am already vaguely familiar with Wuxia (Chinese historical fiction), though I have never actually seen any of it myself. It sounds interesting to me. I'm also somewhat familiar with Wu Zixu, Sun Tzu, Yao Li, Zhuan Zhu, Sima Qian and the biographies of the five assassins.

But I don't know enough, and I don't know where to begin. I guess I'll start with the language. Sun Tzu refers to five types of spies, which he refers to as gokan. Emperor Gao shortened gokan to kan. Sima Qian refers to five assassins, which he refers to as cike or sishi. Someone I spoke to told me that the Chinese word for a ninja is renzhe. Google makes reference to the Chinese lin-kuei and their art of an-chi. But all of this is very confusing. Could someone who is fluent in Chinese please explain to me the difference between kancho, gokan, cike, renzhe and lin-kuei?