Increasing lung capacity and cardio

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by the australian, Sep 29, 2008.

1. the australian

the australian Banned Banned

G'Day ladies and gents

I'm trying to increase the amount of time I can hold my breath for (this is for swimming, BTW) and I was wondering, what cardio can help? Thanks in advance.

2. Yohan

Yohan In the Spirit of Yohan Supporter

Ok so you want to get better at holding your breath, specifically for swimming. Not being a swim coach, I would recommend you practice holding your breath for long periods of time (inhale and exhale fully a few times, then take a full breath and hold it for a long time), and swimming, with focus on keeping your head under the water all the time.

Any type of anaerobic training would also help you to perform better when your body is not getting as much oxygen as it is using up.

3. Garrett

Garrett Valued Member

x2

Practice holding your breath and it should become easier.

Cardio does not increase lung capacity. In fact almost nothing increases lung capacity. The only slightly trainable thing about the entire respiratory system is some respiratory muscles, including the diaphragm and the muscles in between your ribs.

4. BorntoFight

BorntoFight New Member

5. trailblazer

trailblazer Valued Member

Swimming itself is supposed to be one of the best ways to increase lung capacity. Running and meditation breathing exercises are others. It's a long term goal sort of thing. It can be dangerous to work intensely to increase it in a short amount of time. Keep swimming and your lung capacity will increase.

6. Garrett

Garrett Valued Member

Lung capacity can not be regarded as V02max. They are NOT the same thing and have almost no relation to one another.

The maximal amount of air your lungs can hold has little relation to the ability of your muscles to take up and use oxygen (which is what V02max tests measure).