Improve Hip Flexibility

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by cxw, Jul 27, 2004.

1. cxw

cxw Valued Member

I'm currently a beginner in Thai Boxing. I've really noticed that I've got poor hip flexibility - which makes kicking very hard.

What stretches/excercises can I do to improve my hip flexibility?

2. KickChick

KickChick Valued Member

The rectus femoris together with the iliopsoas is the usual culprit when it comes to poor hip flexibility, because these muscles are often very stiff and require specific stretching. The function of the rectus femoris is to flex your hip & to extend your knee, so you can stretch it by extending your hip & flexing your knee.

Here is an example of the stretching of both the rectus femoris and the iliopsoas ( hip flexors) note that by flexing your knee of the leg that's extended (the leg that your stretching) more the stretch becomes more specific for the rectus femoris http://www.exrx.net/Stretches/HipFlexors/Lunge.html

These weak hip flexors inhibit your kicking ability .... lack of strength, height in the kick and kicking endurance.
    Exercising hip flexors is one of the most important conditioning exercise a martial artist can include in their training workout ....

In my fav book "Stretching Scientifically" .... Kurz explains that if possible, you should do even your general strength exercises in the same movement pattern as your technique.