Impaired vision

Discussion in 'MMA' started by tengu, Jan 6, 2005.

1. tengu

tengu Capoeirista "Paparazzi"

I need some advice on adapting what I'm learning. I'm currently studying keysi fighting method, submisson grappling and vale tudo. My problem is the fact when my glasses come off for sparring my vision is not so good! I can only pick up on movement, not what techniques been thrown at me, and hooks (punches and kicks) become invisible to me the wider they go, at the moment I am struggling to be effective inside boxing range due to being hit, I can deal with straight shots okay, but anything with a curve in it!
    My vision's a bit blurry due to the musculature in my left eye being weak, which causes a blurring of vision, I can compensate by closing that eye but then goes depth perception, and I'm then hampered by a "blind side."
    So I tend to be dragging everyone to the ground and striking from holds all of the time! This may be okay to some,but I don't like having a major floor in my game!
    Any ideas?

2. Sgt_Major

Sgt_Major Ex Global Mod Supporter

could you get contacts?

My brother had a similar prob to what you describe, he got contacts for a while, but he freaked out at puttin them in and out all the time, and you can only wear them for 6 hrs a day i think. Eventually he got laser surgery. Says its the best thing ever happened him. brought him up to almost 20/20 vision. He needed glasses to read anything, to drive, to watch TV....the whole lot, now he doesnt need them at all for anything. He was told he would need reading glasses when hes about 50......but who doesnt??

3. tengu

I'm a bit nervous about getting them smashed out of my eyes, or gettin a layer of eyeball shaved off......

4. Sgt_Major

contacts wont smash, at most it'll come out, and you'll have to look for it.....not ideal in a fight/spar......but for the 99 times out of 100 it stays in you'll be in a far better position than you already are.