Ice Baths

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Simon, Jun 15, 2022.

1. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Have any of you tried ice baths, or cold water therapy.

I have started to do some work directed by the incredibly clever, but nutty as a fruit cake, Wim Hof.

I now take daily two minute cold showers and the effect on my mood has been noticeable.

My pulse drops and my mood definitely lightens during the cold showers.

His breathing method is new to me as well and that also has a positive effect.

Mitch and axelb like this.
  2. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

Yes I've been doing them for a few years, usually around the time of increased activity (training for a race).

I feel it helps when I'm particular over sore, and have an elevation of mood also for some time after.
    Also do the cold shower, usually after training. I haven't followed Wim Hoff's method, so I'm not familiar with the breathing part, I follow slow deep breathing method that I would normally do when meditating.

The ice bath 1-2 times a week, I don't do more than that, probably not a true ice bath as I believe it needs to be a metal bath. I use my normal bath, with 2 shopping bags of ice (not sure how much that is, but that's what I use to carry it from freezer to bath).
    I can't fit my whole body in, so it's up to about my lower chest area for no more than 10 minutes.

I notice my HR drop for some time after also, based on reading of my watch.

3. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

I know someone who took all wim hofs claims as being true (which there not, but are still impressive) tried out his hyperventilation method, and almost drowned in his bath.

Then I looked into it and a few people have actually died due trying to follow his methods, so that put me off it.

Then I looked in more detail ( not this but something very similar in Dutch: https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/wim-hof-the-iceman/ )