I started taking lessons

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by KidKrav, Feb 14, 2012.

1. KidKrav

KidKrav Valued Member

After a hiatus from martial arts and fitness, I've found some time to get lessons. My friends and I used to watch the old videos with Rorion and Royce and roll around and we had a copy of the Gracie Combatives, but this is my first time getting personal instruction from a high level practitioner. I've wanted to to take lessons for a while, and having been away from my other styles for the better part of a year while saving, now seems like the perfect time.

I'm very satisfied with my teacher, but I'm having trouble deciding where to focus as I don't plan on competing in the near future. I'm not interested in the singular application of BJJ techniques for my self, though I do respect people like my teacher who devote themselves to that pursuit..
    Rather I see the techniques I'll learn as something to add to what I already know from other styles. I don't want my jiujitsu techniques to be reduced or made impractical because I have other influences or because I ignore the possibility of striking.

Has anyone else dealt with this issue? And if so what conclusions have you drawn??

2. Mitlov

Mitlov Shiny

If you're not focused on competition, you don't need your focus to be anywhere in particular so long as you're getting fit and you're enjoying what you're doing. If it seems fun and it makes you sweat, do it.

3. KidKrav

KidKrav Valued Member

Part of me wants to become a blue belt, which is funny because I don't totally understand what defines a blue belt's level of skill. To make things more confusing my teacher said he doesn't give students blue belts until they're almost at purple level because it's better to be a higher skilled blue.