How to define Bujinkan?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Jason Overlord, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jason Overlord

Jason Overlord Valued Member

Hi there, everyone.

I've been reading discussions on Bujinkan, taijutsu and ninjutsu for ages and yet I haven't seen a definitive explanation of what Bujinkan actually is. Some say it's ancient budo, some say it's practical modern self defence, some say it's a complete martial art and some say it is lacking in key areas that need to be trained elsewhere. Then there's the criticisms and conflicting praises of how it's trained.

So, what is the Bujinkan? What is the style? Surely, after all this time, it can be classified and described as easily as any other martial art.

I have some experience of the Bujinkan and I have my own ideas, but I'd like to hear others' descriptions based on facts, rather than theories.

Cheers.

2. Bronze Statue

Bronze Statue Valued Member

The only person who gets to define what Bujinkan is is a certain Mr. Hatsumi.

As for whether it's worthwhile for your practice or what purpose it serves or doesn't serve, that'd best be found via visiting local dojos of that art.

3. campsinger

campsinger Valued Member

Welcome to the crowd.

Yep, that about sums it up.

Nope

That all helped a lot, now did't it? :confused:

The best advice I can give you is to drop into a dojo and check it out in person. Either the teacher and the combination of what they are doing and how they are imparting the knowledge will strike a chord with you or it won't.

I've been training for almost 23 years and unfortunately I still have to take the Bujinkan on a case by case basis. Some teachers I trust and respect greatly (some of them are on this forum), the rest I try to ignore unless they are in my area, in which case I take a "personal interest" in their presence.

Good luck on your journey and your search.

4. Muawijhe

Muawijhe Dreams of Madness

Hi, my first post here, too.