how important is strength in ameteur boxing?

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by LT987, May 4, 2012.

1. LT987

LT987 New Member

im quite new to boxing and was wandering, how much does strength matter in ameteur boxing, i have never seen an ameteur bout end in a knockout, and only the occasional injury (usually the nose) but these seem to have been because of where the punch was placed rather than the strength of the punch, what do you think?

2. Unreal Combat

Unreal Combat Valued Member

While strength shouldn't be ruled out I think you'll find technique and stamina more important. You'll work on exercises and drills to strengthen your muscles as you train (or at least should do) so I wouldn't worry about having to hit the gym daily or anything, not at that level anyway. Certainly wouldn't hurt in moderation though.

In my opinion.

Last edited: May 4, 2012
  3. LT987

LT987 New Member

yesterday we were doing a circuit that involved exercises like you mentioned, as well as some cardio, so i think that your right, i also asked the coaches and more advanced boxers, they seem to think the same thing as you. thanks for your input.

4. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

Strength isn't really that big of a component in boxing overall... especially at the amateur level. Boxing isn't a weight pushing contest. It's about speed, reflexes and the ability to out think your opponent. Hit without being hit... ideally. The amateurs are especially about the ability to land many punches and maintain speed and elusiveness. Those who are punching with KO power in the amateurs are few and far between and many of them that are usually are the naturally heavy handed types... even that doesn't always necessarily translate into pro boxing once they move up.

If you're taking your boxing seriously there are a lot of priorities before you get to weight lifting. Footwork and coordination drills being the top two.

5. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong