high school wrestling

Discussion in 'Western Martial Arts' started by animefreak88, Nov 5, 2004.

1. animefreak88

animefreak88 Valued Member

hi, i'm currently training in karate, where we do next to no grappling. to help make up for this and lose some of my body fat, i'm considering going out for my high school's wrestling team. what are your opinions on this and does anyone have any suggestions that could help me?

2. kenpfrenger

kenpfrenger sportin' a Broughton

Definitely do this! If I could go back to high school again that is one of the things I would do......I did not begin wrestling til way after I graduated when I really saw the usefullness of the sport in a martial context.

I wish i could offer you some good advice for making the team but the best i can really do over the net is wish you the best of luck.

3. E-Rocker

E-Rocker Valued Member

If you want to do high school wrestling, go for it! It's a fun sport and the conditioning is excellent.

One thing to note: in learning Greco-Roman wrestling (which is the style normally done in HS, at least in the US) won't teach you to defend against chokes (and maybe joint locks? Don't remember. It's been a long time), because they're not allowed. When I first started doing BJJ & CSW, I had this really bad habbit of giving up my back, ingrained from my Greco-Roman instinct to not get pinned, and would usually get choked out shortly thereafter :eek: .

Anyway, good luck with it!

4. Louie

Louie STUNT DAD Supporter

5. IshinDenShin

IshinDenShin New Member

Having a Karate base helps your wrestling as well. In highschool I would go to a two hour wrestling practice, have an hour to eat dinner, and then three days a week do intense Shotokan karate practice. It was really hard but worth it in the long run.

Karate basics help allot in wrestling becasue the rooted stances help you to not get thrown on the mat. Also, the hip snapping action in karate makes your throws really powerful.

Good Luck!

J.

6. notquitedead