Hi! Mok Gar Kung Fu!

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Lennon, May 5, 2017.

1. Lennon

Lennon Member

Good evening all,

I'm 26/M from Birmingham, UK. This is my story, so far, for those that are interested...

I've been studying Mok Gar Kung Fu now for 5 months and am taking my first grade for my yellow sash next Thursday!

Mok Gar has been my first practical experience in a Martial Art. I once went to a Ju Jit Su class to watch when I was 13 but was immediately put off by the prices given by the instructor. I had a friend that did Wing Chun at school but his class was too far for me to travel to.

I then tried to 'make it' as a musician. This failed, so I wanted something to focus on to take away the 9-5/Mon-Fri feeling.

I'd never heard of Mok Gar before and I always thought 'Kung Fu' was it's own art. One day, I saw an advert for classes in Mok Gar Kung Fu and just decided to google it at work. I discovered Kung Fu was not a Martial Art but a term used to describe a skill. I dug a little deeper and found out Mok Gar specifically was quite a rare practice.

Anyway, the advert mentioned that the first class was free and was physically challenging. I'd given up smoking the year before wanted to see what my fitness was like so I gave it a shot, why not? It's safe to say I almost died. Not only was this my first ever practical exposure to a martial art but it was probably the first physical activity I had done in at least 10 years. I had to take a break and my Si Fu was very kind and understanding. I eventually pushed through seriously debating never going back. Then came the conversation about the next class... I genuinely expected to be told, like I was with the previously mentioned Ju Jit Su, that it would cost a kidney to be involved in the next class. I was surprised by the response. 2 hours for £6, no uniform needed and no grades were mandatory. This was something I could get on board with.