Help needed (left huck)!

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by jonno182, Mar 10, 2004.

1. jonno182

jonno182 New Member

Hi all great site,

I wondered if anyone can give any tips on how to make my left huck more effective ! I am quite new to Boxing, have done some Kickboxing, JKD, Karate and Judo, but the instructor says that my left huck is pant's and quite frankly I agree. I have a 3 foot bag and floor to celing ball to practice on. Any tips would be great.

Thanks,
    Jon. :woo:

2. MichaelV

MichaelV New Member

What'd your instructor say was wrong with it?

The power doesn't come from your arm - it comes from your legs, hips, and back. Just whipping your fist around isn't going to work.

3. jonno182

jonno182 New Member

Thanks for the reply,

I know that the power comes from the hips, legs and back but what he said was that I was hucking close to my body, like a close huck, but he wanted me to do a long huck, I was trying for ages but I couldnt seem to get the huck effective when I was going long, I was missing the pad and landing them like a pansy! :(

cheers,
    Jon.

4. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Try "crushing a cockroach" with the ball of your left foot. It should give you a better swivel (you turn the raised heel through 90 degrees as a rough guide - like squashing a bug)

5. jonno182

jonno182 New Member

Thanks for that Hannibal I will try that out.

Jon.

6. cioGium

cioGium New Member

Until you get a better form do not practice the hook at a bag it will only make things worse- work it up at a wall bag - stationary pillow!(forgive the english)