Hello from new Forumer....

Discussion in 'Karate' started by iolair, Jan 9, 2003.

1. iolair

iolair Mostly Harmless

Well, I've just put a few posts in, but I thought I'd stop and say "Hello" anyway as I'm new here!!!

I've 16 years experience with Combat Sports, including...
    - Seido Karate under Sensei Roger Thyer-Jones
    - Seidokan Karate under Sensei Professor Stephen Chan
    - Shotokan (though only for a year)
    - Judo
    - Fencing (mainly epée)

I've also studied (practically and academically) elements of Western Boxing, Kung Fu, JKD, Ju Jitsu, Tae Kwon Do, Kendo and Escrima. Beyond that, I have a strong knowledge of fitness and strength training and sports diets. Which may sound like a lot, but the more you get into martial arts, the more you realise quite how much a beginner you are!

My philosophy regarding technique and training is a pragmatic one: "Retain what is useful, discard what is not" - a la Bruce Lee. I currently train solo about 6 hours a week: due to personal issues I'm not able to find a suitable club locally.

2. TkdWarrior

TkdWarrior Valued Member

welcome to forums...
    -TkdWarrior-

3. paul paterson

paul paterson Valued Member

Osu,

Welcome to the site and we hope you are enjoying it.

I see that you have been about and I would like to ask a few questions if I may.

Firstly, in the 16 or so years that you have been studying the combat arts. What is your opinion on the martial/combat arts today compaired to when you fisrt started out?

Secondly, you have said that you train solo at present. To most people that is a hard thing to do as the motivation must be maintained all the time. How do you deal with the motivation and can you give any of our readers some clues as to keep the spirit strong?