Hanging And Keeping A Heavy Bag

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by JesusIsTheBest, Jul 22, 2020.

1. JesusIsTheBest

JesusIsTheBest New Member

I recently got a stand for heavy bags and Im hanging a 50 LB bag on it right now, the bag is attached by a spring and the purpose of the spring is to absorb some of the impact when the bag is struck as well as some of the weight of the bag so there is less stress on the straps that the bag hangs from. From my experience in the past, the straps are the first things to break when you hang a bag.

So the spring is supposed to help prevent the straps from breaking and this is the first time I've used a spring. Im wondering if it would be a good idea to only hang the bag when Im using it for a workout, if I should take the bag down after every workout, or if I should just leave it hanging even when Im not using it. I do eventually plan on getting other bags of different weights but for now Im just starting out with the 50 LB bag. Advice?

2. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

I have my 6ft Thai bag (no idea what it weighs) on a spring too and it's always hung up. I use the spring so hitting the bag transfers less energy to the mount and ultimately the wall the mount is on. The spring, as far as I can see, hasn't lost any tension over the years. Bag still hangs the same height over the floor. If the spring is a good one I don't see any problems with it hanging all the time.

3. Grond

Grond Valued Member

I actually like to take my heavy bag off and use it for weighted squats and other fun training (over the shoulder carries, lifts). Obviously this is easier for some folks if they only have 50 pounder, but if you're able, a 75 or 100 lb bag you can carry for training is a godsend especially if your gym is closed (as mine has been for a long time now).