Greetings from New Orleans

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by j8mes, Sep 8, 2007.

1. j8mes

j8mes New Member

My old buddy Stuart (a moderator over in the FMA pages) pointed me to MAP, so here I am.

I started studying the Filipino Martial Arts in 1991 with the Patalinghug family in Baltimore, Maryland, at their school, "Kick Connection". Our school is associated with the Cacoy branch of Doce Pares. I continued to train with the Patalinghug family and teach for them, until I moved to New Orleans in 1999. I still have a great relationship with the Patalinghugs, and consider them a second family and still train with them when I go home to visit family. I received my Lakan Dalawa (2nd Degree) from them.

Along the way, I've studied some Aikido, Jujitsu, Silat, and many styles of FMA, including some backyard sessions with my Father's friend (my Father is Filipino), but only received beginning rank in Mande Muda Silat, and no rank in any other system or style.

I moved to New Orleans in 1999. I trained with Jack Garrett Sensei in Minami Ryu Ju Jitsu and received Gokyu rank under him. I also began teaching Eskrima at Garrett Sensei's school in Metairie, and did so up until Katrina.

After Katrina, I taught Eskrima briefly at a school in Kenner, LA where Garrett Sensei was also teaching, and after that, taught outside at a park. I'm now teaching at a Gym in Uptown New Orleans and have a great group of dedicated students.

I don't teach for money. I teach because I love practicing the Art. Most of my students are referrals from other students. I only teach kids if their parent takes class with them. I've taken a few walk in students, but you must submit a small biography and a phone number so I can interview you first.