good kung fu classes/schools north east england?

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by dan117, Jun 11, 2011.

1. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

hi just looking for some suggestions of some good kung fu schools in durham/newcastle area? im already studying wing chun but would like to take up an additional art

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

How long have you been chunning?

3. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

been training in wing chun for about 3 years

4. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Ok, that would seem reasonable. The reason I ask is that so many people say "Hi I have been training in XYZ for about 5 months and would like to cross train..."

Anyway, whereabouts are you?

5. Late for dinner

Late for dinner Valued Member

Might be worth a look...

www.liondance.org.uk

CLF with Sifu Edmund Ng

You might send ChimpCheng a note as I believe he has been with (is at?) this club.

powchoy

6. Ben Gash CLF

Ben Gash CLF Valued Member

+1 for Edmund Ng

7. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

im located in durham, but im willing to travel around for good classes

8. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

i know its a bit of a longshot but i dont suppose there are any shaolin kung fu schools in the area?

9. EmptyHandGuy

EmptyHandGuy Valued Member

10. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

11. Infrazael

Infrazael Banned Banned

I don't like the description. I don't know of ANY Chinese martial art that are currently in existence which can say with 100% certainty, that it is PURELY FOR FIGHTING.

If it is, we would have zero forms. Zero.

12. dan117

dan117 Valued Member

only concern i have is that it seems mantis is quite similar to wing chun so im unsure if it would be worth training in the two...

13. butcher wing

butcher wing Oi, Fatso!

Southern Mantis is closer to WC than Northern (a la 7 Star).

Considering your location I'd opt for the Choy Lay Fut. It's a good fighting system.

14. tonglonglengjai