Goju Questions

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Goju, Sep 5, 2003.

1. Goju

Goju Yellow Belt

Hey, I started this thread so that goju karate ka could ask questions about anything goju related and have them answered by anyone who knows anything about Goju...

Can someone answer this for me..... there is a small debate in my dojo questioning kata Sanchin, some say the ibuki breathing is 20% of your breath exhaling for 80% of the punch or block and 80% of your breath exhaling on the last 20% of the punch, others say 90%-10% rather than the 80%-20%. I know that the main idea is the tightening of your muscles in the "box" to create that sort of pressurized breath, but I'm just learning this kata and I thought someone could suggest something or give an opinion.

2. KenpoDavid

KenpoDavid Working Title

I do not study Goju but I do love mathematics. I dare you to execute a punch and ask someone "was that 90/10 or was that 80/20". Don't get hung up on such specifics, the principle is important... how do you measure that anyway ;)

3. Ken Allgeier

Ken Allgeier New Member

I would suggest contacting Glenard Grabow at ;

www.okinawanadventures.com

Mr Grabow begain his training in Goju Ryu and Ryukyu Kobujutsu in 1961 as a marine stationed in Okinawa.Mr Grabow trained for six years in Okinawa and his teachers were Masanbu Shinjo and Kanei Katsuyoshi and all of Mr Grabow's ranks up to 4th Dan were conducted on Okinawa. Also Mr Grabow studied for one year, from Seikichi Toguchi while stationed in Japan.

ken allgeier

4. Dark Blade

Dark Blade It Roundhouse time

KenpoDavid - Sanchin is a slow and very prowerful meditation kata, the punch is slow. Thats how you measure it, if thats what you mean.

The true form of sanchin is exhaling throughout the punch, not 80% of it or whatever.
    I consider it the true way because thats how it's taught in the original Goju, before "That Cat" reinvented it as Goju Kai.

If you need some more info, pm me.

5. 47Ronin

47Ronin New Member