Getting close enough to throw a shin kick

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by The Decay of Meaning, Jul 12, 2011.

1. The Decay of Meaning

The Decay of Meaning Valued Member

The guys I spar with usually back away a lot, so much so that all you usually can hit with your ancle, and not your shin. So how do you get in close enough so you can throw a proper kick with your shin?

Do you have to counter their front kicks or jabs and then move in for a kick?

2. ShadowHawk

ShadowHawk Valued Member

I'm no expert, but I would imagine either step in closer and counter if they attack, OR just simply wait for the opening

Maybe its your speed that needs training?

3. Osu,

You need to work on combinations that will get you into range.
    Of course you will ear a few jabs in the process, but once you have kicked them a few times in the thighs with your shins, they'll move a lot slower.
    You can also grab and hold the runaway types.

Osu!

4. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

Hitting someone with your ankle or instep is better than not hitting them at all (for the most part).
    Man...most days I'm happy if I can hit anyone with anything let alone my shin. :)

5. Osu,

Here we go ---- take what you can! ;)

Osu!

6. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

If you are having problems getting in range for a Muay Thai kick to land... it could mean you are telegraphing your attacks or otherwise being too predictable. There are a couple of things that may help... one is developing better footwork and use of broken timing... another is getting a coach to help make sure you aren't telegraphing your attacks, etc.

You can also watch your opponent for signs of being gassed. Once their mouth opens for breathing and they are flat footed, they will more vulnerable to kicks do to lack of footwork.

These are just general comments and may or may not apply to you.