Getting certified to teach Tai Chi

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by nefariusmdk, Jul 24, 2012.

1. nefariusmdk

nefariusmdk Valued Member

I've been practicing Tai Chi for three years now. I've assisted my instructor many times over in helping newcomers to the school learn Tai Chi basics. I'm just wondering, for all of you who are instructors here, how long did it take for you to be certified as Tai Chi instructors? My teacher has been pushing me to take the test, but from what it sounds like most GOOD instructors have at least 10+ years of Tai Chi practice for them.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2012
  2. nefariusmdk

Basically, I'm asking because I want to leave my teacher and train somewhere else :/ he's a good teacher when he's teaching, but lately it's been draining coming by. There's a lot of negativity within him, and I keep missing classes because I just don't want to be there.

Also, there's a lot of inconsistencies among us students. He'll teach me one thing, and then he'll teach something different to 5 other people. When we meet together we're all in a loop, and he's like "you're both right and you're both wrong," and gives us soomething completely new all together. I know he's a good teacher, but I feel like i'm limiting my ability to learn more by not exposing myself to others. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  3. El Medico

El Medico Valued Member

If you want to train with someone else then do so,you don't sound too happy. I would suggest addressing your concerns to your instructor,if you've spent three years with him you should be able to speak with him if things are deleterious to your motivation for practice/attendance.

Being an instructor is irrelevant when in another school unless it's in the same association.