Genbukan Koryu Karate

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Bronze Statue, Feb 18, 2007.

1. Bronze Statue

Bronze Statue Valued Member

How does Genbukan Koryu Karate differ from the Okinawan karate arts?

2. Koyoku

Koyoku I enjoy pudding!

Hello,

I am not an expert on Koryu karate, but my teacher is the top teacher in it in the united states, I hope to study it more and more over time. I do feel however I can give you some basic insights to the art.

First, what is different is the history and lineage. Koryu Karate means old school, ancient tradition etc. "China hand" It came to Japan from China, but not through Okinawa a VERY long time ago.

There are many things that are similar to Okinawan Karate, but many things different. For example no long forms, Kata are done as two man exercises. The stances are more chinese style in nature (in my experience...)

The best way to find out actually is to visit a teacher and experience it for your self. It is very fast and fluid and flowing, it has a very explosive quality to it. There are some clips on Tanemura Soke's website, that give a very basic idea of it that may help.

Sorry I could not be of more help, but as I have said, I am just a newbie in that art. You might want to ask it on the Genbukan honbu site www.genbukan.org or contact Michael Coleman Kyoshi via e-mail and I am sure he can better explain it to you.

Good luck.

Sincerely,

3. Mike Flanagan

Mike Flanagan Valued Member

Looking at the video clips on the genbukan.org site, I have to say that I doubt this art is in any way 'koryu'. It looks to me like a pastiche of modern karate and ju-jitsu. The seonage shoulder throw, for example, has all the hallmarks of 20th century ju-jitsu - not pre 20th century karate.

I could be wrong, but I don't believe (admittedly from what little I've seen) that this art is what it purports to be.

Mike

4. Koyoku

Koyoku I enjoy pudding!

Hello,

thank you for your reply.

I would like to clear some things up.