Forms in Hapkido

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by Shihan, Dec 14, 2004.

1. Shihan

Shihan Valued Member

I've been studying hapkido for 6 years now. Due to the birth of my child and some injuries, I haven't earned my black belt yet. Hopefully I will test for it next year(I'm 1st gup-red belt w/black stripe). But I have heard different opinions on hapkido as far as forms are concerned. Some people say that traditional hapkido doesn't teach forms. But I have seen hapkido books with forms. My Sabumnim has also showed me a very old hapkido book with forms. But are forms really necessary in a system that's suppose to be self-defense orientated ?

2. iron_ox

iron_ox Jungki Kwan Midwest

Hello all,

There are no forms in Traditional Hapkido, at all. Forms have been added for a variety of reasons, from a need to increase amounts of available material, to a way of getting students to spend valuable training time in a dojang fighting an imaginary opponent - often while the instructor reads a newspaper.

I have been to SEVERAL dojangs that teach forms and have never seen a "master created" form that was in any way useful in am greater understanding of Hapkido.

In terms of seeing forms in "old books" - lots of instructors in Korea saw the rapid growth of TaeKwonDo and wanted to mirror its success - thus added forms in this attempt.

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

Here's some relevant info I've posted earlier:

I would say that having forms in Hapkido would be more the exception rather than the rule. I learned forms in Korea and enjoyed them. I am not really sure how many other schools used them though. I know that Moo Moo Kwan had them as did Korea Guard's Martial Arts and GM Myung Jae-nam's IHF.