Flexibility in groin at bottom of Goblet Squat

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Pkhamidar2com, Apr 7, 2012.

1. Pkhamidar2com

Pkhamidar2com Panda Member

So when i do a Goblet squat, i can reach ass to grass. My ass is at the lowest point where tension still remains and i don't have much more ROM before im basically resting, and i dont have a butt wink anymore either.

Problem is i feel this stretch in the groin area, it doesn't feel good. Its usually where my knee angle is 30 degree or less. In other words near the end of the range of motion

I am a beginner in terms of goblet/weighted squats (previously did a lot of pistol squats). However I heard greater range of motion is better. Since at home i don't have a lot of weight at the moment, and because the greater the range of motion the harder it is to lift a certain amount of weight, i thought it would be better if i increased the range of motion.

The feel in the groin near the bottom, i believe its due to flexibility. Is there anything you recommend to increase that flexibility?

I know of some groin stretches i would do daily for when I used to do TSD, would that benefit?

Also have seen the stretch where you sit at the bottom of a squat and then you push out the knees with elbows. But that is a static stretch, and I learned that static stretches without a warm up can in it self cause tears and strains.

So what do you recommend in terms of warming up the groins and dynamic stretches maybe, for the goblet squats?

Thank you

2. Princess Haru

Princess Haru Valued Member